PROCEEDINGS OF THE TERREBONNE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD

March 22, 2022

The Terrebonne Parish School Board met today at **6:00 P.M. in Special Session** at its regular meeting place, the Terrebonne Parish School Board Office, 201 Stadium Drive, Houma, Louisiana, with Mr. Gregory Harding, president, presiding, and the following members present: Dr. MayBelle N. Trahan, vice president; Mr. Michael T. LaGarde, Mr. Matthew J. Ford, Mrs. Debi Benoit, Mrs. Stacy V. Solet, Mr. Clyde F. Hamner, Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, and Mr. Dane Voisin.

ABSENT: None

Mr. Voisin led the Board and audience in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of Joyce D. Williams, retired school teacher; Diane O. Adams, retired school teacher; Bruce Clark, former Terrebonne Parish School Board Member, and Shirley N. Matherne, retired custodian, who recently passed away.

President Harding announced that the purpose of this special meeting was to select and announce a New Superintendent for the Terrebonne Parish School District. He stated that each Board Member will cast their voice vote for the applicant of their choice, and the applicant receiving a majority vote would be declared Superintendent-elect for the Terrebonne Parish School District.

The five (5) applicants are:

- Cory Butler
- Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.
- Dr. C. Michael Robinson, Jr.
- Mark Torbert
- Clyde Washington

The voice-voting process then began as follows:

Mr. Clyde Hamner voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mrs. Debi Benoit voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mr. Matthew Ford voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mr. Roger Dale DeHart voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mr. Dane Voisin voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mrs. Stacy Solet voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mr. Michael LaGarde voted for: Mr. Cory Butler

Dr. MayBelle Trahan voted for: Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.

Mr. Gregory Harding voted for: Mr. Clyde Washington

President Harding declared the vote was seven (7) for Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr.; one (1) vote for Mr. Cory Butler; and one (1) vote for Mr. Clyde Washington.

Motion of Mr. Ford, seconded by Mr. DeHart, with the exception of Mr. LaGarde and Mr. Harding, the Board officially declared Mr. Aubrey J. Orgeron, Jr. as Superintendent-elect for the Terrebonne Parish School District.

Mr. Aubrey J. "Bubba" Orgeron, Jr. then addressed the Board expressing his thanks and gratitude to Superintendent Philip Martin and the Board and pledged his support to the Terrebonne Parish School District.

Motion of Mr. DeHart, seconded by Mrs. Benoit, unanimously carried, the Board voted to adjourn its meeting (6:24 P.M.).

/s/ Philip Martin, Secretary

/s/ Gregory Harding, President

RLB