PROCEEDINGS OF THE TERREBONNE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD

July 21, 2020

At the hour of 5:00 P.M., Board President Debi Benoit announced that a Public Hearing was now in order to "Discuss Increase of Adjusted Millage Rate not to Exceed the Prior Year's Maximum Rate."

Following three calls for public input relative to the foregoing topic and hearing none, President Benoit declared the Public Hearing was now closed, and the Board resolved itself into a special meeting of the Terrebonne Parish School Board.

The Terrebonne Parish School Board met today, immediately following the 5:00 P.M. Public Hearing, in special session at its regular meeting place, the Terrebonne Parish School Board Office, 201 Stadium Drive, Houma, Louisiana, with Mrs. Debi Benoit, president, presiding, and the following members present: Mrs. Stacy V. Solet, vice president; Mr. Gregory Harding, Mr. Matthew J. Ford, Mr. Clyde F. Hamner, Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, Dr. MayBelle N. Trahan, and Mr. Dane Voisin.

ABSENT: Mr. Michael T. LaGarde

Mrs. Solet led the Board and audience in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

President Benoit apprised the Board and audience that since there was no old business to address, at this time, that the next matter on the agenda was new business to adopt the Adjusted Millage Rate(s).

Mrs. Solet moved, seconded by Mr. Hamner, that the Board, by roll call vote, adopt the following resolution adopting the adjusted millage rate(s) for the Regular School Tax (Constitutional) and the Special School Tax (Maintenance) of the entire school system, all effective for 2020:

RESOLUTION NO. 1913

BE IT RESOLVED by the Terrebonne Parish School Board of the Parish of Terrebonne, Louisiana, in a public meeting held on July 21, 2020, which meeting was conducted in accordance with the Open Meetings Law and the additional requirements of Article VII, Section 23(C) of the Louisiana Constitution and R.S. 47:1705(B), that the following **adjusted** millage rates be and they are hereby levied upon the dollar of the assessed valuation of all property subject to ad valorem taxation within said Parish for the year 2020, for the purpose of raising revenue:

	MILLAGE
Regular School Tax (Constitutional)	<u>3.81 mills</u>
Special School Tax (Maintenance)	5.34 mills

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Assessor of the Parish of Terrebonne shall extend upon the assessment roll for the year 2020 the taxes herein levied, and the tax collector of said Parish shall collect and remit the same to said taxing authority in accordance with law.

The foregoing resolution was read in full, the roll was called on the adoption thereof, and the resolution was adopted by the following votes:

YEAS: Mr. Gregory Harding, Mr. Matthew J. Ford, Mrs. Debi Benoit, Mrs. Stacy V. Solet, Mr. Clyde F. Hamner, Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, Dr. MayBelle N. Trahan, and Mr. Dane Voisin

NAYS: None

ABSTAINED: None

ABSENT: Mr. Michael T. LaGarde

President Benoit declared the adoption of the foregoing resolution carried.

Mrs. Solet moved, seconded by Mr. DeHart, that the Board adopt the following resolution designating the adjusted millage rate(s) and rolling forward to the increased rate(s) allowed by law for the Regular School Tax (Constitutional) and the Special School Tax (Maintenance) Millage for 2020:

RESOLUTION NO. 1914

BE IT RESOLVED by the Terrebonne Parish School Board of the Parish of Terrebonne, Louisiana, in a public meeting held on July 21, 2020, which meeting was conducted in accordance with the Open Meetings Law and the additional requirements of Article VII, Section 23(C) of the Louisiana Constitution and R.S. 47:1705(B), that the taxing district voted to increase the millage rate(s), but not in excess of the prior year's maximum rate(s), on all taxable property shown on the official assessment roll for the year 2020, and when collected, the revenues from said taxes shall be used only for the specific purposes for which said taxes have been levied. Said millage rate(s) are:

	Adjusted Rate	<u>2020 Levy</u>	
Regular School Tax (Constitutional)	<u>3.81 mills</u>	<u>3.86 mills</u>	

Special School Tax	(Maintenance)	5.34 mills	5.41 mills
Special School Tax	Maimenance	<u>J.J. IIIII</u>	<u>J. T I IIIII</u>

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Assessor of the Parish of Terrebonne, shall extend upon the assessment roll for the year 2020 the taxes herein levied, and the tax collector of said Parish shall collect and remit the same to said taxing authority in accordance with law.

Mr. LaGarde entered the meeting during the reading of the resolution and was present for the remainder of the proceedings.

Mrs. Rebecca Breaux, Chief Financial Officer, addressed the Board regarding the foregoing resolution.

The foregoing resolution was read in full, the roll was called on the adoption thereof, and the resolution was adopted by no less than two-thirds of the total membership of the taxing authority voting in favor as required by Article VII, Section 23(C) of the Louisiana Constitution and R.S. 47:1705(B). The votes were:

YEAS: Mr. Michael T. LaGarde, Mr. Gregory Harding, Mr. Matthew J. Ford, Mrs. Debi Benoit, Mrs. Stacy V. Solet, Mr. Clyde F. Hamner, Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, Dr. MayBelle N. Trahan, and Mr. Dane Voisin

NAYS: None

ABSTAINED: None

ABSENT: None

President Benoit declared the adoption of the foregoing resolution carried.

Motion of Mrs. Solet, seconded by Mr. Voisin, unanimously carried, the Board voted to adjourn its meeting **(5:16 P.M.)**.

/s/ Philip Martin, Secretary

/s/ Debi Benoit, President

RLB