PROCEEDINGS OF THE TERREBONNE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD

MARCH 15, 2016

The Terrebonne Parish School Board met today at 6:00 P.M. in regular session at its regular meeting place, the Terrebonne Parish School Board Office, 201 Stadium Drive, Houma, Louisiana, with Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, President, presiding and the following members present: Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III, Vice-President, Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, Mr. Richard Jackson, Mrs. Debi Benoit, Mr. Donald Duplantis, and Mrs. Vicki Bonvillain.

ABSENT: Mr. Gregory Harding and Dr. Brenda Leroux Babin

Mr. Jackson led the Board and audience in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of Roxanna T. Duplantis, retired school custodian, who recently passed away.

Mr. Harding and Dr. Babin entered the meeting at this time and were present for the remainder of the proceedings.

The Board recognized the following 8th grade students representing Terrebonne Parish in the 2015-2016 Students of the Year Program who were invited to tonight's meeting for introduction and to receive a certificate:

Evergreen Junior High School Grand Caillou Middle School Houma Junior High School Lacache Middle School Montegut Middle School Oaklawn Junior High School Aaliyah Wright

Kaelynn Louviere **Amber Henry** Angela Manangan Hannah Robert **Emily Arceneaux**

The Board then recognized the Terrebonne Parish (2015-2016) 8th Grade Student of the Year, Hannah Robert, Lacache Middle School student.

The Board recognized the following 12th grade students representing Terrebonne Parish in the 2015-2016 Students of the Year Program who were invited to tonight's meeting for introduction and to receive a certificate:

H. L. Bourgeois High School Ellender Memorial High School South Terrebonne High School Terrebonne High School

Amber Peltier Kaitlyn Moore Mallory Robichaux Camille Marcel

The Board then recognized the Terrebonne Parish (2015-2016) 12th Grade Student of the Year, Mallory Robichaux, South Terrebonne High School student.

Several announcements were made by President DeHart relative to upcoming meetings.

At this time, the Board allowed Superintendent Philip Martin to address the Board relative to the make-up time, as a result of schools' closure, due to the recent inclement weather on Friday, March 11, 2016. Superintendent Martin stated that from March 21, 2016, through May 17, 2016, ten (10) additional instructional minutes will be incorporated into the school day. School take-in and dismissal times will not be changed.

Superintendent Martin presented the following personnel actions for the period of January 13, 2016, through March 9, 2016 [list of professional instructional and non-instructional/support personnel (appointments, resignations, termination, and retirements – Information Only)]:

New Employees - Professional Instructional Personnel

Katie LeBoeuf, Social Studies Teacher, Practitioner, H. L. Bourgeois High - Thomas Ferguson, Resigned, 01/19/16

Cynthia Newman, 8th Grade Teacher, Certified, Evergreen Junior High - Johnathon Daigle, Resigned, 01/29/16

Darryl Parker, 7th Grade Teacher, Degreed/Non-Certified, Evergreen Junior High - Harwood Jones, Resigned, 02/15/16

Vyctoria Johnson, TAP Master Teacher, Certified, Village East Middle - Glinis Terrell, On Leave, 02/24/16

New Employees - Non-Instructional Personnel

Vernon Robinson, Custodian III-A, Evergreen Junior High - Terry Brown, Resigned, 02/16/16

Vicki Champagne, Custodian III-A, Mulberry Elementary - Adonis Ross, On Leave, 02/22/16

Pamela Lyons, Bus Driver, Transportation Department - Precious Shephard, Resigned, 02/22/16

Jharo Matthews, Bus Driver, Transportation Department - Stephen Smith, Resigned, 02/22/16

Carlton Staidum, Sr., Licensed Electrician, Maintenance Department - Tom Wilson, Resigned, 02/17/16

Resignations - Professional Instructional Personnel

Olisa Austin, 5th Grade Teacher, Certified, Southdown Elementary - Resigned, 01/15/16

Lani Detiveaux, 2^{nd} Grade Teacher, Certified, Mulberry Elementary - Resigned, 03/04/16

Ashley Hebert, 7th Grade Teacher, Certified, Oaklawn Junior High - Resigned, 02/19/16

Harwood Jones, 7th Grade Teacher, Practitioner, Evergreen Junior High - Resigned, 02/04/16

Channing Parfait, 6th Grade Teacher, Degreed/Non-Certified, Southdown Elementary - Resigned, 01/14/16

Regina Talbert, Mild Moderate-Inclusion, Degreed/Non-Certified, Schriever Elementary - Resigned, 02/05/16

Resignations - Non-Instructional Personnel

Megean Pierre, Bus Driver, Transportation Department - Terminated, 02/16/16

Precious Shephard, Bus Driver, Transportation Department - Resigned, 01/27/16

Retirements - Instructional Personnel

Suzanne Gautreaux, Home Economics Teacher, H. L. Bourgeois High - Service Retirement, 20.31 Years, 02/15/16

Bridget St. Martin, 2nd Grade Teacher, Mulberry Elementary - Disability Retirement, 23.67 Years, 01/25/16

Retirements - Non-Instructional Personnel

Keith Breaux, A/C Heating Maintenance Mechanic, Maintenance Department - Service Retirement, 26.50 Years, 02/16/16

Jestin Brunet, Warehouse Manager, Purchasing & Warehouse - Service Retirement, 18.59 Years, 02/04/16

Geneva LeBeouf, Indian Ed Paraprofessional, Pointe-Aux-Chenes Elementary - Service Retirement, 33.00 Years, 03/03/16

Susie Woodward, Administrative Secretary I, West Park Annex-Federal - Service Retirement, 34.06 Years, 03/03/16

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Dr. Babin, unanimously carried, the Board voted to go into executive session, at this time (6:15 P.M.), relative to a parent appeal for early readmission of Student #131380.

Motion of Mr. Thomas, seconded by Mr. Bordelon, unanimously carried, the Board reconvened in regular session (6:35 P.M.) with all members present.

Mr. Duplantis moved, seconded by Mr. Bordelon, that the Board allow Student #131380 to return to school immediately, subject to signing a contract.

A roll call vote having been called for on the foregoing motion, the vote thereon was as follows:

YEAS: Mr. Harding, Mr. Jackson, Mr. Bordelon, Mr. DeHart, Mr. Duplantis, and Mrs. Bonvillain

NAYS: Mrs. Benoit, Dr. Babin, and Mr. Thomas

ABSENT: None

President DeHart declared the foregoing motion carried.

Motion of Mrs. Bonvillain, seconded by Mr. Duplantis, unanimously carried, the Board voted to go into executive session, at this time (6:40 P.M.), relative to a parent appeal for early readmission of Student #133067.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. Thomas, unanimously carried, the Board reconvened in regular session (7:00 P.M.) with all members present.

Mr. Duplantis moved, seconded by Mr. Bordelon, that the Board deny the parent appeal for readmission of Student #133067.

A roll call vote having been called for on the foregoing motion, the vote thereon was as follows:

YEAS: Mr. Harding, Mr. Jackson, Mrs. Benoit, Dr. Babin, Mr. Bordelon, Mr. DeHart, Mr. Duplantis, and Mrs. Bonvillain

NAYS: Mr. Thomas

ABSENT: None

President DeHart declared the foregoing motion carried.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. Thomas, unanimously carried, the Board voted to adjourn its meeting **(7:05 P.M.)**.

/s/ Philip Martin, Secretary

/s/ Roger Dale DeHart, President

RLB