## PROCEEDINGS OF THE TERREBONNE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD

## August 4, 2015

The Terrebonne Parish School Board met today at 6:00 P.M. in regular session at its regular meeting place, the Terrebonne Parish School Board Office, 201 Stadium Drive, Houma, Louisiana, with Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, President, presiding, and the following members present: Dr. Brenda Leroux Babin, Vice-President; Mr. Gregory Harding, Mr. Richard Jackson, Ms. Debi Benoit, Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III, Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, Mr. Donald Duplantis, and Ms. Vicki Bonvillain.

ABSENT: None

Mr. Harding led the Board and audience in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of Robert Deroche, retired school custodian, and Dora Zeller, retired school food service employee, who recently passed away.

At this time, President Thomas recognized Dr. Lottie Beebe, Member of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, who was in attendance at tonight's meeting.

Motion of Mr. DeHart, seconded by Mr. Jackson, unanimously carried, the Board approved the minutes of School Board Meeting of July 7, 2015, as recorded.

The Executive Committee report was presented to the Board.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Dr. Babin, unanimously carried, the Board received the following Executive Committee report in its entirety:

Dear Members of the Board:

The **Executive Committee** met at 5:30 P.M. on Tuesday, July 21, 2015, in the Board Room of the School Board Office with the following members present: Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, President, Dr. Brenda Leroux Babin, Vice-President, and Ms. Debi Benoit. Others in attendance were Superintendent Philip Martin and Mrs. Rebecca Breaux.

The meeting began with an invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The **Executive Committee** examined and authorized payment of invoices for the current month (including supplemental payroll and travel expenses).

The **Executive Committee** addressed member concerns.

There being no further business to come before the **Executive Committee**, the meeting was adjourned.

kespectiony subtrimed,
Roosevelt Thomas, President
Brenda Leroux Babin, Ph.D., Vice-President

Door ootfully outbroitted

Debi Benoit

ВВ

The Executive Committee report was concluded.

The report of the Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company, Inc. was then presented to the Board.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. Bordelon, unanimously carried, the Board received the following report of the Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company, Inc. in its entirety:

Dear Members of the Board:

The **Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company**, **Inc.** met immediately following the Executive Committee meeting on Tuesday, July 21, 2015, in the Board Room of the School Board Office with the following members present: Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, President, Dr. Brenda Leroux Babin, Secretary/Treasurer, and Ms. Debi Benoit. Others in attendance were Mrs. Vicki Bonvillain, Superintendent Philip Martin, and Mrs. Rebecca Breaux.

The **Board of Directors** received the June 2015 financial statement (see attached).

The **Board of Directors** allowed the Superintendent and/or his designee to renew a lease with Le Petit Theatre de Terrebonne, Inc., 252-A Barrow Street, for a monthly lease of three hundred twenty-five (\$325.00) dollars for the period of one (1) year, commencing August 1, 2015, and terminating July 31, 2016, and further, authorized the Board President to sign all necessary documents pertaining thereto.

There being no further business to come before the **Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company**, **Inc.**, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Roosevelt Thomas, President

Brenda Leroux Babin, Ph.D., Secretary/Treasurer

Debi Benoit

ВВ

The report of the Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company, Inc. was concluded.

Superintendent Philip Martin then announced, for informational purposes, the following personnel appointments and gave introductions:

- 1) Turnaround Specialist Margaret Cage
- 2) Assistant Principal Dularge Elementary School Tessie Adams
- 3) Assistant Principal, East Houma Elementary School Alesia Blanchard

4) Assistant Principal, Elysian Fields Middle School – Tracy Dorsey

Motion of Mr. DeHart, seconded by Dr. Babin, unanimously carried, the Board voted to go into executive session, at this time (6:20 P.M.), to discuss the parent appeal for readmission of Student #131049.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. DeHart, unanimously carried, the Board reconvened in regular session (6:40 P.M.) with all members present.

Mr. Duplantis moved, seconded by Mr. DeHart, that the Board allow Student #131049 to return to school for the 2015-2016 school session, subject to signing a contract.

Mr. Bordelon, seconded by Mr. Jackson, offered a substitute motion, that the Board allow Student #131049 to return to school in January 2016, subject to signing a contract.

A roll call vote having been called for on the substitute motion, the vote thereon was as follows:

**YEAS:** Mr. Thomas, Mr. Harding, Mr. Jackson, Ms. Benoit, Dr. Babin, Mr. Bordelon, and Ms. Bonvillain

**NAYS:** Mr. DeHart and Mr. Duplantis

**ABSENT:** None

President Thomas declared the foregoing substitute motion carried.

Motion of Dr. Babin, seconded by Ms. Benoit, unanimously carried, the Board voted to go into executive session, at this time (6:45 P.M.), to discuss the parent appeal for readmission of Student #131288.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. DeHart, unanimously carried, the Board reconvened in regular session (7:05 P.M.) with all members present.

Mr. Duplantis moved, seconded by Mr. DeHart, that the Board allow Student #131288 to return to school for the 2015-2016 school session, subject to signing a contract.

Mr. Bordelon, seconded by Dr. Babin, offered a substitute motion, that the Board allow Student #131288 to return to school in January 2016, subject to signing a contract.

A roll call vote having been called for on the substitute motion, the vote thereon was as follows:

**YEAS:** Mr. Thomas, Mr. Harding, Mr. Jackson, Ms. Benoit, Dr. Babin, Mr. Bordelon, and Ms. Bonvillain

**NAYS:** Mr. DeHart and Mr. Duplantis

**ABSENT:** None

President Thomas declared the foregoing substitute motion carried.

Motion of Dr. Babin, seconded by Mr. Duplantis, unanimously carried, the Board voted to adjourn its meeting **(7:15 P.M.)**.

/s/ Philip Martin, Secretary

/s/ Roosevelt Thomas, President

RLB