## PROCEEDINGS OF THE TERREBONNE PARISH SCHOOL BOARD

## **January 3, 2012**

The Terrebonne Parish School Board met today at 7:00 P.M. in regular session at its regular meeting place, the Terrebonne Parish School Board Office, 201 Stadium Drive, Houma, Louisiana, with Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III, President, presiding, and the following members present: Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, Vice-President; Mr. Gregory Harding, Mr. Richard Jackson, Ms. Debi Benoit, Ms. Brenda Leroux Babin, Mr. Roger Dale DeHart, Mr. Donald Duplantis, and Mr. Hayes J. Badeaux.

ABSENT: None

Ms. Babin led the Board and audience in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of Francis Voisin, former Terrebonne Parish School Board Member; Paul Besancon, retired school teacher, and Coy Watkins, retired school teacher, who recently passed away.

President Bordelon announced that the first order of business was the election of the President and Vice-President of the Terrebonne Parish School Board for a one-year term beginning this date.

Mr. Duplantis placed in nomination for the presidency the name of Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Ms. Benoit, unanimously carried, the nominations for the office of President were closed.

A roll call vote having been taken for the election of the President, the vote thereon was as follows:

For Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III: Mr. Harding, Mr. Jackson, Ms. Benoit, Ms. Babin, Mr. Bordelon, Mr. DeHart, Mr. Duplantis, and Mr. Badeaux

NAYS: Mr. Thomas

ABSENT: None

Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III was declared elected President of the Terrebonne Parish School Board for a one-year term beginning this date.

President Bordelon then announced that nominations were open for the office of Vice-President of the Board for a one-year term beginning this date.

Mr. Duplantis placed in nomination for the vice-presidency the name of Mr. Roger Dale DeHart.

Mr. Harding placed in nomination for the vice-presidency the name of Mr. Roosevelt Thomas.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. Jackson, unanimously carried, the nominations for the office of Vice-President were closed.

A roll call vote having been taken for the election of the Vice-President, the vote thereon was as follows:

For Mr. Roger Dale DeHart: Mr. Jackson, Ms. Benoit, Ms. Babin, Mr. Bordelon, Mr. DeHart, Mr. Duplantis, and Mr. Badeaux

For Mr. Roosevelt Thomas: Mr. Thomas and Mr. Harding

ABSENT: None

Mr. Roger Dale DeHart was declared elected Vice-President of the Terrebonne Parish School Board for a one-year term beginning this date.

Both, Mr. Bordelon and Mr. DeHart, thanked fellow Board Members for their vote of support.

The Executive Committee report was presented to the Board.

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. DeHart, unanimously carried, the Board received the following report of the Executive Committee in its entirety:

Dear Members of the Board:

The **Executive Committee** met at 6:00 P.M. on Tuesday, December 20, 2011, in the Board Conference Room of the School Board Office with the following members present: Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III, President, Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, Vice-President, and Mr. Roger Dale DeHart. Others in attendance were Superintendent Philip Martin, Mr. Harris Henry, and Mrs. Rebecca Breaux.

The meeting began with an invocation and Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The **Executive Committee** examined and authorized payment of invoices for the current month (including supplemental payroll and travel expenses).

The **Executive Committee** addressed member concerns.

There being no further business to come before the **Executive Committee**, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

L. P. Bordelon, III, President

Roosevelt Thomas, Vice-President

Roger Dale DeHart

RLB

The Executive Committee report was concluded.

The report of the Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company, Inc. was then presented to the Board.

Motion of Mr. Badeaux, seconded by Mr. DeHart, unanimously carried, the Board received the following report of the Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company, Inc. in its entirety:

Dear Members of the School Board:

The **Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company**, **Inc.** met at 6:30 P.M. on Tuesday, December 20, 2011, in the Board Conference Room of the School Board Office with the following members present: Mr. L. P. Bordelon, III, President, Mr. Roosevelt Thomas, Secretary/Treasurer, and Mr. Roger Dale DeHart. Others in attendance were Superintendent Philip Martin, Mr. Harris Henry, and Mrs. Rebecca Breaux.

The **Board of Directors** received the November 2011 financial statement (attachment).

The **Board of Directors** approved the renewal of Property and General Liability Insurance from USI Southwest for the period of January 10, 2012, through January 10, 2013, at an estimated cost of \$7,801.20, with selection of exclusion/rejection of Terrorism Insurance Coverage along with Wind/Hail Coverage, and authorized the Board President to sign all necessary documents pertaining thereto.

There being no further business to come before the **Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company**, **Inc.**, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

L. P. Bordelon, III, President

Roosevelt Thomas, Secretary/Treasurer

Roger Dale DeHart

The report of the Board of Directors of Terrebonne Construction Company, Inc. was concluded, and President Bordelon reassumed the Chair and presided for the remainder of the proceedings.

Motion of Mr. Jackson, seconded by Mr. DeHart, unanimously carried, the Board approved a leave of absence without pay in accordance with Policy (FILE: F-11.10) for Shirley Patrick, Custodian at Broadmoor Elementary School, beginning December 19, 2011, through February 10, 2012 (medical).

Dr. Debra Yarbrough, Supervisor of Personnel, addressed the Board regarding the foregoing motion.

Motion of Mr. Jackson, seconded by Mr. Badeaux, unanimously carried, the Board approved a family and medical leave in accordance with Policy (FILE: F-11.4a) for Dione Walker, Paraprofessional at Coteau-Bayou Blue Elementary School, beginning January 20, 2012, through April 26, 2012 (medical).

Motion of Mr. Duplantis, seconded by Mr. Badeaux, unanimously carried, the Board voted to adjourn its meeting (7:18 P.M.).

/s/ Philip Martin, Secretary

/s/ L. P. Bordelon, III, President

RLB